My daily exploration of the Bible, taking it one chapter at a time. If I do it everyday, it'll take 1189 days.

Saturday, February 02, 2008

Revelation 6

Baby seals

The lamb opened the first of seven seals on the scroll, and there was a white horse who held a conquerer. The second seal revealed a red horse for war. The third was a black horse to destroy the economy. The fourth was a pale horse ridden by death and hades to kill a quarter of the earth.

The fifth produced the martyrs who were given white robes and told to wait just a little longer for justice. The sixth produced and earthquake and darkened the sun and the moon turn red. Everything was moved and removed. All the rulers ran and hid from God.

Key verse:
8. I looked, and there before me was a pale horse! Its rider was named Death, and Hades was following close behind him. They were given power over a fourth of the earth to kill by sword, famine and plague, and by the wild beasts of the earth.

My thoughts:
So the first four seals produce the four horsemen of the apocalypse, ending with death, who is here personified; a rare thing for biblical text.

So yea, we've had 6 seals of the 7 from tha scroll given to the lamb. Once the seventh gets opened in a couple of chapters we move onto the seven trumpets of the angels.

So what does this mean? Some would attribute these seals to events happening before the world is destroyed. I sorta believe that, but I think that the context and description of it is so vague that it's hard to say anything for certain. It's certainly quite frightening.

I think it's quite helpful whilst reading Revelation to keep a kinda chronology in your head of what's happening in the vision, and don't separate it too far from the vision John had. This needs to be interpreted as a vision.

So far John saw Jesus and heard 7 messages to 7 churches, and then saw the throne room, and the lamb came in to open the scroll, and we've seen in this chapter the results of opening the scroll.


Post a Comment

<< Home